Are single women really looking for a polygamous family? | Forum

Topic location: Forum home » General » Questions
DanSmith
DanSmith Feb 14
Have a question more for the single ladies, but anyone is free to jump in and comment with their experiences. I recently joined SisterWives and have been curious as to single women looking for this lifestyle.

My background is that I grew up in a polygamous family here in Salt Lake City (I was raised as a fundamentalist Mormon). Though I don't subscribe to some of the fundamentalist beliefs, such as that I must live it in order to get to Heaven, I am very comfortable with the idea of polygamy and opening up our home for another woman looking for a stable family. Well, as stable as a family can be sometimes We all get on each others nerves from time to time. 

Anyway, I have more religious/spiritual beliefs that are directing me towards the possibility of polygamy. Our family is very religious, and while we have many Jewish/Christian/Mormon beliefs, that's more the driving force for me. And since I was raised in a polygamous setting, it's not a weird or foreign concept to me.

My question for single women is... why would you be looking for it?
Speaking from my very limited viewpoint, most women I knew looked at polygamy as a means to serve and obey God, and unless you were raised in it or felt a commandment from God to live it, you wouldn't necessarily care to "share" a husband. Why introduce a different and sometimes difficult life choice into your life? If you come from a more generic Christian/LDS/Spiritual background that doesn't particularly find polygamy good (some churches in my experience considered it an abomination), why would you seek it out? Is it more of a lifestyle choice for you than anything else, or are there other drivers?

Thanks for the feedback!

Share:
zoec
zoec Feb 14